Meet Fitzwilly Womack: A Cypress Lucky Mutt Rescue Happy Ending

Mark and I had been talking about getting another dog (in addition to our sweet old lady Sophie), but I didn’t think it would happen this soon.  And like most things in life, this made my time line look silly, so here we are. Meet Fitzwilly Womack; named after the bar/restaurant Mark and I met in college – Fitzwilly’s.

How Fitz came to us: Our neighbor fosters dogs for Cypress Lucky Mutts. (Great organization, check out their petfinder page!)  Mark had told her we were thinking about getting a puppy brother for Sophie, and asked if she could keep an eye out for a basset hound (because he had a basset hound when he was growing up). I subsequently told her we were thinking around Christmas would be a good time so that Sophie had time to adjust to her new house.  A week later she knocked on my door with Fitz, the most adorable floppy-eared furbaby I’d ever seen.  And the rest was history.

He has now become my new photography model.  I’m trying to take pics of him every Saturday, so we can see how he grows.  I’m pretty sure he’s doubled in size in 5 short weeks!

6 WEEKS

6WEEKS

8 WEEKS

A man and his dog

8weeks-2

8weeks-3

8weeks

9 WEEKS

9weeks

10 WEEKS

10weeks

11 WEEKS

11weeks

Moral(s) of the story:

1. Adopt don’t shop – there are thousands of dogs and puppies in shelters waiting to love you.

2. Taking care of a puppy is way more work than I thought it would be. Fitz poops so much it makes me question the law of conservation of matter.

3. Prepare yourself, you’ll be seeing tons more pictures of this furbaby.

Leave a Reply

